Home Government Business Shippers’ Council Former Bosses Receive National Award

Shippers’ Council Former Bosses Receive National Award


Hassan Bello, the immediate past executive secretary of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC), has been conferred with the prestigious National Honours of Order of the Niger (OON).

Bello, who had been listed for the award by the administration of former President Muhammadu Buhari, received it in Abuja on June 1, 2023.

It was gathered that the award conferred on Bello was in recognition of his contribution to the maritime sector in the eight years he served as Executive Secretary of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council.

Speaking on the award, Bello said, “My profound gratitude goes to former President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari. I am humbled that I have been conferred with the prestigious National Award of Officer of the Order of the Niger.”

“This honour at this point in the history of our nation, fills my heart with sincere gratitude to the president, the nation, the transport Ministry as well as the maritime sector where I was given the opportunity to serve as executive secretary of the NSC for eight years,” he said.

Hassan Bello has been widely commended for engendering harmony among stakeholders through inclusive and collaborative regulation.

In a related development, Dabney Shall-Holma, a former director of Commercial Shipping, Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC), received the same award for her contribution to the development of the nation’s transportation sector.

Shall-Holma spearheaded the project to produce navigational charts for lower River Niger covering a total area of 1,719.8km and a total distance of 593.9km from Jamata to the Atlantic Ocean.

Previous articleNPA Boss Bello-Koko Bags National Productivity Order Of Merit Award 2022
Next articleJamoh Bags National Productivity Merit Award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here